A Gentleman at Heart

by Paul W. Feenstra

Find your copy...

London, England 1869. On learning about the death of his much-loved father, Captain Austin Willems of the 67th South Hampshire Regiment of Foot returns home to discover his father was swindled by a railway company he heavily invested in. Austin learns that the ruthless directors of Grand Overland Rail hide behind privilege and peerage to prey on their unsuspecting victims and that their greed contributed to his father's ailing health and eventual death. With no other option, Captain Willems decides revenge is his only recourse.

Taking matters into his own hands, Captain Willems embarks on a daring plot of vengeance; however, when people begin dying, he quickly grasps that Grand Overland Rail director's influence is far-reaching and they'll stop at nothing, including murder, to ensure their honour and reputations prevail. With the support of retired sergeant, Oliver 'Ollie' Nagle and the beautiful Harriet Stephenson at his side, he is in danger of losing everything. Even with the Metropolitan Police at his heels, will Austin restore his father's legacy, stay alive and remain out of jail?

About the Author

Paul W. Feenstra is a historical fiction novelist. His character-driven novels are meticulously researched and detailed and create a dramatic window into our chronicled and complex past.Set in beautiful and mysterious New Zealand, Paul's first novels, 'Boundary, ' 'The Breath of God' and 'For Want of a Shilling', detail early colonial life and the controversial impact colonialism had on native Maori. Says Feenstra, "History is about the untold story, and writing historical fiction is a wonderful way to present the past in a compelling and entertaining way."The medieval 'Falls Ende' eBook series- 'The Oath', 'Courser' and 'The King', have proven to be equally successful. Originally written as three short stories, they are emotional and captivating and have been seamlessly compiled to create a full-length print book, 'Falls Ende - Primus'. Since then, Paul has completed a much-anticipated full-length sequel, 'Falls Ende - Secundus' a third, 'Falls Ende - Tertium and Falls Ende -Quartus, book four in the series.Gunpowder Green is a lighthearted collection of New Zealand short stories that chronicle New Zealand life as it once was. Humorous and even thought-provoking, each story is varied and highlights rural living, a diverse culture and a forgotten yet very familiar lifestyle. In February 2022, he released Into the Shade, an adventure set in 1914.

Learn more about Paul W. Feenstra...