2024 Storylines Award Winners announced


Storylines Trust Chair, Christine Young with 2024 Margaret Mahy Medal winner, Elizabeth Jones.

The 2024 Storylines Margaret Mahy National Awards Day was held on Sunday 7 April 2024. The afternoon included the presentation of the Storylines Margaret Mahy Medal to Elizabeth Jones.

The event also celebrated the announcement of the winners of the 2024 Storylines manuscript and illustration awards. Congratulations to all the winners:

Storylines Gaelyn Gordon Award: The Dragon Hunters written by James Russell, illustrated by Link Choi

Storylines Janice Marriott Mentoring Award: Jonathan Poff, Ashburton for manuscript titled Pan-Pan!

Storylines Gavin Bishop Award: Kaye Julian, Wellington

Storylines Joy Cowley Award: Annelies Judson, Tāmaki Makaurau for manuscript titled Turkey Hurly-Burly

Storylines Tessa Duder Award: Kiri Lightfoot, Auckland for manuscript titled Bear

No Storylines Tom Fitzgibbon Award for a Junior Fiction Manuscript or Storylines Te Kahurangi Kāterina Heikōkō Mataira Award for a manuscript in te reo Māori was presented. 

The recipients of the Unpublished Writers Awards were:

Storylines Joy Cowley Award: Anne Slight, Whangamatā

Storylines Tom Fitzgibbon Award: Kara Laurenson, Tauranga

Storylines Tessa Duder Award: Hannah Marshall, Wellington

Take a look at the March Aotearoa Children’s Junior Fiction and YA Bestsellers, sponsored by Storylines.